Half Marathons in New Zealand

The 21.1km half marathon is a popular long distance running event that doesn't need the same level as training that a full marathon does. The following is a list of marathons around New Zealand.

Use the search function to filter events by keywords, location, date range and event type.

Events 1 to 89 of 89

EventDateLocationTypes

Hoka ONE ONE Tauhara Trail Run

Sunday, 2 July 2017Mt Tauhara, TaupoRun/Walk

Hawke's Bay Trail Running Series

Sunday, 9 July 2017Location TBC, Hawke's BayRun/Walk

Norsewood to Takapau Fun Challenge

Sunday, 9 July 2017Norsewood to Takapau (near Waipukurau)Bike Run/Walk

Sri Chinmoy Auckland Series 2017

Sunday, 9 July 2017Auckland Domain, AucklandRun/Walk

Three Pigs 2 Day Marathon

Saturday, 22 July to Sunday, 23 July 2017Glenbervie Forest (near Whangarei)Run/Walk

Run Auckland

Sunday, 23 July 2017Metro Park, Millwater Parkway, Silverdale, AucklandRun/Walk

Hoka ONE ONE Taupo Marathon

Saturday, 5 August 2017Huka Falls & Redoubt Street, TaupoRun/Walk

Unitec Run and Walk Events

Sunday, 6 August 2017Alexandra Park, Greenlane, AucklandRun/Walk

South Island Half Marathon

Sunday, 6 August 2017Lake Hood, AshburtonRun/Walk

Sri Chinmoy Auckland Series 2017

Sunday, 6 August 2017Auckland Domain, AucklandRun/Walk

Hawke's Bay Trail Running Series

Sunday, 13 August 2017Riflemans Vineyard, Dartmoor Rd, Puketapu, Hawke's BayRun/Walk

Petone Club 5 Bridges Marathon and Fun Runs

Sunday, 20 August 2017Petone, Lower HuttRun/Walk

Mount Maunganui Half Marathon

Saturday, 26 August 2017Mount MaunganuiRun/Walk

Cambridge Half Marathon

Sunday, 27 August 2017Cambridge High School, CambridgeRun/Walk

Hoka ONE ONE Kinloch Off Road Challenge

Saturday, 2 September 2017Kenrigg Road, Kinloch, TaupoRun/Walk

Smiths Craft Beer House Trail Run

Saturday, 2 September 2017Homestead Bay, QueenstownRun/Walk

North Loburn School Fun Run

Sunday, 3 September 2017Ashley Forest north of ChristchurchRun/Walk

North Shore Marathon

Sunday, 3 September 2017Gould Reserve, Takapuna, AucklandRun/Walk

Kaikoura Whale Run

Saturday, 9 September 2017Kaikoura Suburban School, KaikouraRun/Walk

Whangamata Run/Walk Festival

Saturday, 9 September 2017WhangamataRun/Walk

Cadbury Dunedin Marathon

Sunday, 10 September 2017DunedinRun/Walk

Hawke's Bay Trail Running Series

Sunday, 10 September 2017Location TBC, Hawke's BayRun/Walk

Pelorus Trust Run and Walk

Sunday, 10 September 2017McEwan Park, PetoneRun/Walk

Rotorua Night Trail Run

Saturday, 16 September 2017Redwoods Visitor Centre, Long Mile Road, RotoruaRun/Walk

Hatuma Half Marathon

Sunday, 17 September 2017Waipukurau Racecourse, WaipukurauRun/Walk

Unitec Run and Walk Events

Sunday, 17 September 2017Highbrook Business Park, AucklandRun/Walk

Sri Chinmoy Auckland Series 2017

Sunday, 17 September 2017Auckland Domain, AucklandRun/Walk

Trail Trilogy

Sunday, 17 September 2017Kaiaua / Thames / Te Aroha / Paeroa / Waikino to WaihiRun/Walk

Whangarei Half Marathon

Sunday, 17 September 2017Town Basin, WhangareiRun/Walk

Aoraki Mt Cook Marathon

Saturday, 23 September 2017Aoraki Mt Cook VillageRun/Walk

Mizuno Devonport Half Marathon

Sunday, 24 September 2017Windsor Reserve, Devonport, AucklandRun/Walk

Sri Chinmoy Spring Blossom Marathon

Sunday, 24 September 2017Hagley Park South, ChristchurchRun/Walk

Taranaki Daily News Half Marathon

Sunday, 1 October 2017Pukekura Raceway, New PlymouthRun/Walk

South Island Masters Games

Wednesday, 4 October to Sunday, 8 October 2017Saxton Oval, NelsonRun/Walk

Great Barrier Island Wharf to Wharf

Saturday, 7 October 2017Great Barrier Island, AucklandBike Run/Walk

Tauranga International Marathon

Saturday, 7 October 2017The Strand, TaurangaRun/Walk

Hamilton Half Marathon

Sunday, 8 October 2017Flagstaff Park, HamiltonRun/Walk

Shoe Clinic Hill Free Half Marathon

Sunday, 8 October 2017Outram near DunedinRun/Walk

Wairarapa Country Marathon

Sunday, 8 October 2017Makoura College, MastertonRun/Walk

Jackson Holmes Salmon Run

Saturday, 14 October 2017Rakaia Domain, Rakaia (Canterbury)Duathlon Multisport Run/Walk

Crater Rim Ultra Events

Sunday, 15 October 2017Port Hills Athletic Club Rooms, Hansen Park, ChristchurchRun/Walk

Waitakare Fun Run and Half Marathon

Sunday, 15 October 2017Waitemata Rugby Club, Henderson, AucklandRun/Walk

Twizel Pyramid Run and Mini Pyramid Run

Saturday, 21 October 2017Ben Ohau Station, CanterburyRun/Walk

Cromwell Half Marathon

Sunday, 22 October 2017Cromwell Sports Club, Barry Ave, CromwellRun/Walk

Mission Mt Somers

Saturday, 28 October 2017Staveley Store, Staveley, CanterburyRun/Walk

Auckland Marathon

Sunday, 29 October 2017AucklandRun/Walk

Morrinsville College Fun Run/Walk

Sunday, 29 October 2017Morrinsville College, MorrinsvilleRun/Walk

The Taniwha

Saturday, 4 November 2017WaikatoBike Run/Walk

City to Surf Tauranga

Sunday, 5 November 2017Sulphur Point / Main Beach, TaurangaRun/Walk

Coastal Classic MTB & Run

Sunday, 5 November 2017Livingstonia Park, Taieri Mouth, OtagoBike Run/Walk

Selwyn Running Festival

Sunday, 5 November 2017Anderson Square, Leeston, CanterburyRun/Walk

The Nelson Half

Sunday, 5 November 2017Saxton Field, NelsonRun/Walk

Sri Chinmoy Auckland Series 2017

Sunday, 12 November 2017War Memorial Park, Mt Roskill, AucklandRun/Walk

Kerikeri Half Marathon

Saturday, 18 November 2017KerikeriRun/Walk

Lochmara Lodge Half Marathon

Saturday, 18 November 2017Queen Charlotte Track, boat to/from PictonRun/Walk

Queenstown International Marathon

Saturday, 18 November 2017QueenstownRun/Walk

The Molesworth Run

Saturday, 18 November 2017MolesworthRun/Walk

Ashhurst 2 Esplanade

Sunday, 19 November 2017Ashhurst Domain, AshhurstRun/Walk

Waitetuna Windmill Trail Run

Saturday, 25 November 2017324 Waitetuna Valley Road, RaglanRun/Walk

Walking Stars Half Marathon

Saturday, 25 November 2017Auckland Domain, AucklandRun/Walk

Foxton Beach Fun Run

Sunday, 26 November 2017Foxton Beach Surf Club, FoxtonRun/Walk

Longbeach Coastal Challenge

Sunday, 26 November 2017Tannaghmore Farm, Mid CanterburyBike Run/Walk

Podium Rotorua Half Marathon

Sunday, 26 November 2017Whakaue St / Fenton St, RotoruaRun/Walk

Hanmer Holiday Homes Alpine Marathon

Saturday, 2 December 2017Lake Tennyson to Hanmer SpringsRun/Walk

The Goat Adventure Run - The Original Tongariro

Saturday, 2 December 2017Tongariro National ParkRun/Walk

Bridge to Bridge

Sunday, 3 December 2017Whites Crossing, ChristchurchBike Run/Walk

Sri Chinmoy Auckland Series 2017

Sunday, 3 December 2017War Memorial Park, Mt Roskill, AucklandRun/Walk

3 Bridges Marathon

Saturday, 9 December 2017Union Boat Club, WanganuiRun/Walk

Speights West Coaster

Saturday, 9 December 2017Bethells Beach, AucklandRun/Walk

Mike Pero Omaha Half Marathon

Sunday, 10 December 2017Rahui Te Kiri Reserve, Omaha, AucklandRun/Walk

Nelson Striders Half Marathon

Sunday, 14 January 2018Branford Park, NelsonRun/Walk

Buller Gorge Marathon

Saturday, 10 February 2018Buller GorgeRun/Walk

Platinum Homes Orewa Beach Half Marathon

Sunday, 11 February 2018Orewa Surf Club, OrewaRun/Walk

Shotover Moonlight Mountain Marathon

Saturday, 17 February 2018Ben Lomond High Country Station, QueenstownRun/Walk

Mountain to Surf Marathon

Saturday, 3 March 2018New PlymouthRun/Walk

Rotorua Off Road Half Marathon

Sunday, 4 March 2018Whakarewarewa Forest, RotoruaRun/Walk

Kaiteriteri Gold Half Marathon

Saturday, 10 March 2018Kaiteriteri, Near MotuekaRun/Walk

Te Houtaewa Challenge

Saturday, 10 March 201890 Mile BeachRun/Walk

Taihape Half Marathon

Saturday, 17 March 2018Wainui Hall, Pungatawa Rd, TaihapeRun/Walk

Mizuno Coatesville Half Marathon

Sunday, 18 March 2018Coatesville, AucklandRun/Walk

Round the Vines

Sunday, 18 March 2018The Square, MartinboroughRun/Walk

Huntly Half Marathon

Sunday, 25 March 2018Riverview Rd Reserve, Riverview Rd, HuntlyRun/Walk

Paymark XTERRA Rotorua Festival

Saturday, 7 April 2018Blue Lake / Lake Tikitapu, RotoruaBike Run/Walk Triathlon

Auckland Waterfront Half Marathon

Sunday, 8 April 2018Selwyn Park, Mission Bay, AucklandRun/Walk

Lion Foundation Rotorua Marathon

Saturday, 5 May 2018Government Gardens, RotoruaRun/Walk

Air New Zealand Hawkes Bay International Marathon

Saturday, 12 May 2018Marine Parade, Napier to Sileni Estates WineryRun/Walk

Saint Clair Vineyard Half Marathon

Saturday, 12 May 2018Saint Clair Vineyard, MarlboroughRun/Walk

Mt Oxford Odyssey

Saturday, 19 May 2018Coopers Creek car park, CanterburyRun/Walk

Whitianga Half Marathon

Saturday, 26 May 2018Buffalo Beach Reserve, WhitiangaRun/Walk

Events 1 to 89 of 89